Which job first? skimming

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, im a newbie here and pretty much new to DIY alltogether but still pretty compitent

just got a 1 bed back to back in Leeds which needs work

Needs re-skimming as the walls are either coverd in textured wallpaper, rough, batterd etc. I want to do the whole house at once as it needs doing, i'll prob get someone in to do it.

I'v got an idea of what order i need to do things in, but as the architraves and skirtings need replacing, do i replace them then skim? or take them off and skim? I'll fit all them myself.

also, need a re-wire, central heating, new kitchen and bathroom, new windows and door. Do I leave the skimming till i have got the rewire and heating done? I'll fit the kitchen and bathroom after so I can choose where I want the kitchen and bathroom fittings after the rewire and plumb

this is basically just to clarify things in my mind, I just want it all done efficiently

Sponsored Links
Remove skirtings,architraves before skimming.
fit new windows, 1st fix electrics and plumbing then plaster.

Hi guys, im a newbie here and pretty much new to DIY alltogether but still pretty compitent

Needs re-skimming as the walls are either coverd in textured wallpaper, rough, batterd etc. I want to do the whole house at once as it needs doing, i'll prob get someone in to do it.

Hi James, welcome to the forum.

Sorry if an obvious point - you'll need to get all the wallpaper off before skimming. Textured ceilings e.g. artex can be covered with plaster, but you can't cover paper.

thanks, this gives me something to think about.

costs are stacking up though, i'm a working student so may have to get the first fix electrics done and do the rest myself, e.g fitting ceiling rose's and faceplates etc. then get it all plasterd later on when i get the windows and door changed after i'v had central heating fitted and the plumbing done as leeds council didn't make a nice job of it lol!