Which Multifunction Tester?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm just starting out (therefore budget is limited) and looking for a multifunction tester.

My favourite at the moment is the Fluke 1651B which is in price range and has a remote test probe (unlike the Metrel MI3000 and Kewtech KT63 which I also considered) however lacks an auto RCD and RCD ramp test.

The auto RCD test I'm willing to sacrifice for the remote test probe and being inexperienced I'm not sure how useful an RCD ramp test will be in everyday use?

So:

1) Is the Fluke a good starter unit? If not, what would you get instead?

2) How useful is an RCD ramp tester? Am I likely to *need* one?

Sponsored Links
If you can get your hands on a Megger MFT1552, cracking meter.
You can't get them from new but might find some value on ebay, but check out the seller before buying.
eMegger
MFT1552 user guide

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
I have a fluke 1653B and prefer it to the metrel I also own. I would get another fluke when the time comes.

Ramp testiing can be useful when fault finding.

I agree.

I like Fluke. I don't think a 1652 with ramp and auto would be that much more expensive.

I would think if you buy something without these functions you will soon regret it.

Sponsored Links
Cheapest MFT ive seen is the Kewtech KT61 that can be had for around £300 plus VAT if you shop around. Downsides with it are limited RCD test functions and it wont do a low current loop test what used to be known as the D-LOK feature.

I have the Fluke 1653B and find it an excellent bit of kit, however i also have used and like the Megger 1552/1553 testers.

there IS a remote test probe for the Metrel, the "tip commander" its an optional extra, but its there.
A quick google revealed its about another £100

Thanks everyone for the advice.