Why is the Hive so popular?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Looking at all the questions here the Hive seems to be a product of choice except it can’t modulate any boiler. Please correct me if I am wrong but its principle function is to switch the boiler on and off at defined times with preset temperatures that can be controlled via a smart phone but it does not adjust the output of the boiler.

Are the general public and boiler installers not interested in efficiency or is a modulating boiler all hype with no real savings?

Sponsored Links
No idea why so popular, the weather forecast and a honeywell timer with three hour boost covers most situations.

Blup

Ignoring the power of the Centrica/British Gas monopoly and their big advertising budget...

I am not a gas pro, but answering electrical questions on here, leads me to a couple of thoughts.

Due to the British Gas heritage, Hive is a straightforward swap into many existing back plates.

The modulating question is interesting.
If an old boiler is exchanged for a new modulating boiler, often the existing controls are left in place.
If a DIY'er wants to upgrade their thermostat to a smart 'stat for their new boiler, they can be left with a straightforward swap of an on/off stat, or a call out to a gas engineer to install new OpenTherm wiring, possibly disturbing the room sealing of the boiler.

We also see threads on here from new builds that have modulating boilers, but only on/off 'stats have been installed.

...however, it's worth noting that the algorithms used by smart 'stats are such, that calling them 'on/off', is a bit of an injustice!

Sponsored Links
It's one of the easier ones to install. It fits straight onto the industry standard back plate used by the majority of existing programmers and so the wiring doesn't change. (other than bypassing any existing room thermostat) Some other makes [eg Nest & Tado] require some rewiring of the existing controls.