WIFI Bridge, Help required

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by Diyisfun, 30 Dec 2018.

  1. Diyisfun

    Diyisfun

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    7,267
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wireless N 300Mbps Wifi Repeater Router AP Client Bridge/Ethernet port UK.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wireless...h=item56bd95e8f5:g:V0kAAOSwqKNcF1qn:rk:4:pf:0

    I am about to get a faster BB signal.
    I have a TalkTalk Youview box (THAT I DO NOT USE, I have Sky).
    I am thinking of putting the Youview box in a bedroom so catchup TV etc can be watched.
    The Youview box needs a LAN connection, so I need a box to connect to wifi so as I can plug a LAN in.
    Is this what I need?
    Is it a straightforward thing to do?
    Any help/tips appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Nigel123

    Nigel123

    Joined:
    31 Dec 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure of the Brand you suggest..but I am sure it would work for you.
    You could use any WiFi extender with a LAN port - amazon do lots. TP-Link products work but a bit more pricey than the product you have found.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,220
    Thanks Received:
    2,091
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Had one of those, cheap Chinese rubbish, always disconnecting, got to tplink now £15 in Asda.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Lucid

    Lucid

    Joined:
    10 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    1,809
    Thanks Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would agree with @Nigel123 and @foxhole , you've found the correct sort of product, it's just that you're probably scraping the bottom of the barrel as far as performance and reliability of service goes.

    It's tempting think that all the products are the same and you're just paying for a brand and marketing, but as lots of group tests show, there's a big difference in performance between products.

    Some of this is because of design: Cheaper products tend to be limited in speed e.g. N300 vs AC750, AC1200, AC1900, AC2600 and on and on. Then there's the type of wireless signal that a device works with: 2.4GHz has better potential range, but suffers far more drop-outs due to interference from other wireless devices in the crowded 2.4GHz band compared to the more robust 5GHz wireless band. Many of the N300 extenders only work on 2.4GHz, even the well known brand names. These things are easy to weed out though by looking at the spec sheets. What's harder to determine is the real-world performance.

    Two products with close or even near-identical specifications can give rather different performance results when measured up close, and at distance, and on the different wireless GHz bands if supported. To add to this, there may be features in the product that help to boost performance beyond what a basic extender can achieve.

    I am just about to install a Netgear EX6120 for a customer. The device is an AC1200 extender (300Mbps + 900Mbps) and works on 2.4GHz and 5GHz. It has some clever tech too. It can operate the two GHz speeds independently so that 2.4GHz doesn't slow down the 5GHz connections, or I can choose to tie those two pipelines together for better reliability or speed. This is a £35 extender, but by no means top of the range. It's possible to spend over £100 on the higher-end models. TP-Link, D-Link, Belkin, Edimax, Linksys and others have similar products and go equally high-end too.

    Netgear was my choice because I know the performance and they're relatively easy to configure if the customer has to do it themselves at some point. This particular model is specified well enough to take full advantage of the features of the ISP-supplied wireless router without going OTT. Sometimes you get exactly what you pay for, and it this case, I think this extender is worth the extra over something sold in a supermarket. Each to their own though.

    If this or any other reply was helpful to you, on each one please press the THANKS button which appears when you hover the mouse pointer near the Quote Multi-quote buttons.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. motorbiking

    motorbiking

    Joined:
    31 May 2016
    Messages:
    7,136
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know they are not everyone's cup of TV but a Powerline adapter will also do the job, if you are looking for a wired connection. It might give better bandwidth.
     
  8. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    7,327
    Thanks Received:
    571
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed. Never use those things. They cause serious interference to other users of the RF spectrum. Don't know why they have not been banned.
     
  9. Diyisfun

    Diyisfun

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    7,267
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I will now wait to get my faster BB then try it on a downstairs TV, I might find that I don't like the youview, should I like it, I will then buy a bridge.
    Thanks for your help.
     
  10. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,911
    Thanks Received:
    1,778
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought a Lidi unit, it can be configured in many ways, I have hard wired supply and wifi out, but it will work in reverse, however not without problems, I found the log in code was in the on line instructions, so unless changed, anyone could log in, I swapped to my own log in details, it worked well, then found the log in details stopped working, the WPS still worked, but my password failed, it turned out if it looses power for too long it reverts to factory settings.

    I am sure no one would see the name and realise that name needs the default password, however they could buy the same unit and program my unit in error instead of theirs. Connecting to my internet I don't mind, but connecting to my hard drives is another thing. OK no internet banking so no that bad, but with cheap units you can leave yourself wide open.

    Will it work, yes, is it a good idea, not so sure. Nearly every router you buy or are supplied with has it's own user name and password, but this is not true for LAN extenders.
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page