1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Wireless light switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by MickyP10, 30 Jun 2021.

  1. MickyP10

    MickyP10

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A conventional on-off light switch operates my outdoor lights but it's housed under the stairs and I want to remotely turn the power on from upstairs, or maybe with a phone app if I'm coming back late. Is this easily do-able? I have pretty solid broadband. I glanced on amazon and saw this https://www.amazon.co.uk/COLOROCK-W.../B08RDPV8LZ/ref=psdc_1938304031_t3_B081H5VJ5B and wondered if that would do it, or whether there's a better product.

    Regards
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,461
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That product needs live and neutral to operate. It depends on the wiring at the switch. picture of the switch wiring needed!
     
  4. MickyP10

    MickyP10

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah so... Here is what I have.

    20210630_094922.jpg
     
  5. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,461
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I thought, you do not have a neutral at that switch. So the item you linked to cannot go at the switch. it could go at the connections themselves.

    Again, it depends on the connections there!
     
  6. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    2,138
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Easiest way to do that is with a Wifi lightbulb. Then you don't have to mess with the switch.
     
  7. MickyP10

    MickyP10

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, ta. This is the wiring inside garage to two of the lights (house has about eight of them). Could I tap into here?

    20210630_115452(1).jpg 20210630_115529.jpg
     
  8. MickyP10

    MickyP10

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What is this witchcraft you speak of? Would I have to replace all the external lights?
     
  9. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    2,138
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can buy bulbs that are individually controlled by wifi. You leave the light permanently on, and then control the each light via an app on your phone.

    You'd have to replace all the external light bulbs that you want to control remotely. No idea what type of outdoor lights you have or whether you can buy suitable bulbs for them though.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. MickyP10

    MickyP10

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah ok, didn't know about these. Just had a look at one of the lights, though, and the 'bulbs' seem part of the lamp, so I guess they're non exchangeable. Some are doubles too, with a bulb facing up and down, so I guess this would be pretty expensive if, in fact, I did manage to swap them. :(


    20210630_121242.jpg
     
  12. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think there is another junction somewhere.
     
  13. MickyP10

    MickyP10

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Hi Andy

    You mean junction boxes? I have three at the back of the house but I thought a connection inside the garage would be weathertight. They're all on the same circuit.

    Is the conclusion that there is no wi-fi 'switch' suitable for this installation?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes.

    you need to follow the cable that come out the back of the switch is see where it goes.
     
  15. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,461
    Thanks Received:
    2,118
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The connection strip in your photo is (either) the permanent live and neutral, or the switched live and neutral.

    you need to find the junction box where the feed, lights snd switch wires all come together. Your magic box could go there but, it can’t be at a light or at the switch, from what you have shown us so far
     
  16. MickyP10

    MickyP10

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks both. This must be it! (with red tracer to switch.) So I could wire it in here? All pretty neat wiring, you'll agree...
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  17. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    2,138
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can get no neutral light switches, but they need dimmable bulbs which it doesn't look like yours are.
     
Loading...

Share This Page