Wiring for a garage

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm new to this and have a few questions about a garage rewire i'm planning on doing. The garage is supplied by a 30amp fuse in my house.

I was wondering if the best consumer unit to get is 40A 30mA RCD. Would a 30amp supply be ok for this consumer unit?

Also the garage consumer unit comes with a 6amp and 32amp mcb. Should I change it to a 16amp mcb as the only things that will be plugged in is a fridge and a separate freezer. Or is a 32amp mcb fine for a radial for this? The cable run is only about 5/6 metres.

Also is it ok for 2x fluorescent lights to run of the rcd?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I'm new to this and have a few questions about a garage rewire i'm planning on doing. The garage is supplied by a 30amp fuse in my house.
If you are new to designing, installing, inspection, testing and certification. I suggest you do some reading up on this subject as, you will require to follow certain design criteria, regulations and notification procedures.
I was wondering if the best consumer unit to get is 40A 30mA RCD. Would a 30amp supply be ok for this consumer unit?
That would depend on what your load requirements are within the garage and also what type of fuse it is could have bearing on the design
Also the garage consumer unit comes with a 6amp and 32amp mcb. Should I change it to a 16amp mcb as the only things that will be plugged in is a fridge and a separate freezer. Or is a 32amp mcb fine for a radial for this? The cable run is only about 5/6 metres.
Providing the distribution side can deal with 38A demand, it would not matter if you had 32A, 20A or 16A for the socket circuit, what I would consider is if ever I wanted a circuit that could deal with a larger demand than 22A, if ever I wanted extra sockets for power tools or gardening equipment, so provisions might be thought of.

Also is it ok for 2x fluorescent lights to run of the rcd?
It is