Wiring help please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good morning. I started what I thought was a fairly straightforward change a light switch job today but I am now very confused. I have no experience of wiring and thought I'd ask here prior to trying to get a sparky out.

Kitchen lights - 2 switches at either end. Both switches when working switched the kitchen lights off and on. One of the light switches had broken and needed replaced. So I removed the plate, had a look at the wires and just wired up the same switch as the previous light had been done. The other switch had been working fine and now doesn't work at all.

The wire colours I have are Red, Blue, Yellow and an earth that is connected to the metal wall plate.

On the switch I removed I have 2 sets of wires coming in.

The only wires connected were a single Red to Common and a single Yellow to L1. Both blues were left disconnected.

On the opposite switch only one single 3 core wire came in. It was connected as a single red to common, single blue to L1 and single yellow to L2.

I am not an electrician. Should this be easy to sort out myself if I knew where the wires were supposed to go?

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Quote..
The wire colours I have are Red, Blue, Yellow and an earth that is connected to the metal wall plate.

The only wires connected were a single Red to Common and a single Yellow to L1. Both blues were left disconnected
Where is the missing conductor ?

Quote..

The only wires connected were a single Red to Common and a single Yellow to L1. Both blues were left disconnected
Where is the second red ?

The second red was not connected. The end was cut off and it was tucked away.

Sponsored Links
https://www.diynot.com/wiki/Electrics:Two-way-lighting

This diagram should help you when you say the blues are disconnected are they joined or just hanging in free space?

Photos will help at switches and light fittings