Wiring loft

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All
I'm new to this so please bear with me.
I am making a play room for my G/children in my loft & wish to wire it up safely for lighting & mains,as there will be a 500w skirting heater & 2x fan heaters both 1/2Kw rating plus some smaller appliances ie Hi-Fi,Radio etc I will install a consumer unit with 2 mcbs 6A for lights & 30A for mains with no RCD as I have that in main con/unit. I think that my first idea of tapping into the 6mm 40A shower supply cable is a no-no.What size cable should I use & which mcb on the main con/unit should I take the feed from,30a cooker,40A shower,32A mains up,32A mains down.
Many Thanks
Regards
Ruben

Sponsored Links
You can't just double up a submain with an existing circuit, anyway thats a bit of a moot point anyway, because you can't just create a room in an attic like that, your roof trusses will be sized with the understanding that they will be supporting empty boxes, the christmas decorations, a water tank and perhaps the odd overweight sparky now and again, not a room full of kids who will undoubtedly run and jump around.

Appologies if you are already aware of this and have the building inspector on board already, etc, but I thought it important to point out, the last thing you want are your g/kids crashing through the ceiling :eek:

You need a new circuit from your CU downstairs. With that load, you cannot tap off another circuit. Well, you could, but I don't believe it would be best practice.

Your load is around 5000W. That's the best part of 22A. Trouble is, if you run a sub-main, you could really do with discrimination between mcb's in the sub-board & the one feeding it.

You may be better off proving heating up there from the CH, thus drastically reducing the electrical load.

Hi
Many thanks for your reply,I should have mentioned I'm all electric therefore no CH,however I appreciate your advice on wiring.
Regards
Ruben

Sponsored Links
Adam_151 said: