Wiring shower fan light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, Just bought a new shower fan light and even with the wiring diagram, i'm a bit confused (i'm new to this). Someone help please!!

The story is I'm replacing the old light with some spotlights (sorted i can do that), addingg in a junction box(can do that too) and fitting a new switch for the fan light (that too-yippee). No earth is required but the timer fan needs L, N and SL, while the light needs just N and SL.

Ithought 4 way junction box: 1)power in 2)power out 3) cable to fan (L,N)4) cable to switch (L,N) then from switch to lite (N, SL) and switch to fan(N, SL). But now i have 2 N's for the fan? I may be blonde but can these be wired together or am i being really stupid? and is 2 core flex the right one to use?

Ta
DIY ladette

Sponsored Links
if you have 2 neutrals left for the fan then you must have gone wrong some where.

try the for refernce section, except instead of "to next light", yours will be "to fan"

DIYLadette said:
Ithought 4 way junction box: 1)power in 2)power out 3) cable to fan (L,N)4) cable to switch (L,N) then from switch to lite (N, SL) and switch to fan(N, SL). But now i have 2 N's for the fan? I may be blonde but can these be wired together or am i being really stupid? and is 2 core flex the right one to use?

Ta
DIY ladette

Junction box:
Terminal 1: Live in, live out, live to switch and permanent live to fan.
Terminal 2: Neutral in, neutral out, neutral to light, neutral to fan.
Terminal 3: Live return from switch (switched live), switched live to light, switched live to fan
Terminal 4: All circuit protective conductors. (with green/yellow sleeving over bare conductors.

(Live out and neutral out, by the way, refer to rest of the lighting circuit beyond this point. If this is the last point on the circuit, however, there will ony be live and neutral in - see breezer's diagrams in the 'for reference' post)