Wooden wall cladding (bathroom)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Im currently looking to clad the walls in my bathroom which is currently tiled. Can I just remove the tiles and attach the cladding? Do you usually use batons in between the wall and the cladding?

I am only looking to clad about waist high around the bathroom as this is the height the tile comes to.

Im quite new to DIY but have to start somewhere after buying my house 6 months ago, any help appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Can I just remove the tiles and attach the cladding?

Hi,

I'm new to DIY too, but have have completed quite a few successful projects. Infact, I'm even going to be starting the same job as you; fitting cladding to the walls :).

If I were you, I would remove the set of tiles and go back to the bare brick to get a nice easy surface to work with or you could replaster with just a rendered coat (just a 1st coat). Also, this will enable you to save space in terms of wall depth when the cladding is fitted.

Do you usually use batons in between the wall and the cladding?

I think it resides in personal preference. Please note, that from my experiece of boxing in our bath using cladding, it can tend to buckle under certain room temperatures and humidity, so make sure you store the packs of cladding flat until you plan on using them and perhaps even stain them prior to fitting them.

Good luck :)!

ok the way i do it for simplicity ;)

get your wood yard to run up enough 2"sawn batton by what ever you skirting is thick so if your skirting is 16mm
run up 16mm times twice the run plus 20%
so if your cladding has to cover 5m you need 12m this allows you to use the skirting as the bottom batton
take what ever hight you want 1m is good get them to cut 63 lengths at 980 mm [as this example needs 57 lengths as standard ex 12 by 100mm 4byhalf inch comes out at 9mm and covers 88mm with 5 spares]

treat the back off the cladding to seal it avoiding clogging up the grooves ;)