Worcester Heatslave 12/14 question...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have a worcester heatslave 12/14, it has 2 pipes coming out of the boiler and heading upstairs, they also provide the flow and return for the radiators.

Does this mean that the hot and cold water for upstairs also go up these pipes and if so how is it that the water for the central heating and the water for the taps does not mix?

I know that the hot water demand overides the central heating from reading the manual, but it doesn't explain much more than that!

Please can someone explain in learner speak, I'm just curious, I am new to plumbing, started my course in September and not covered central heating yet so sorry if this is obvious to others
!

Sponsored Links
Is this the oil fired combi?
If so, two 22mm pipes provide the flow and return for the radiators; one 15mm pipe is the cold water inlet, another 15mm pipe is the hot water outlet to the taps, another 15mm pipe is the pressure relief valve outlet to outside the building.
John :)

Sponsored Links
what I can see at the back of the boiler is 2 pipes going from the wall into the boiler, one I presume to be mains water in and one maybe somekind of overflow/pressure release? also the oil pipe.

There is 1 pipe coming out of the boiler quite high up at the back and going up the wall, it has another pipe coming off it to the radiatior nearby, so I am presuming flow of hot water to radiators and hot water to upstairs?

There is another pipe coming out of the boiler and going over towards the kitchen sink.

The other pipe that is going up the wall looks to be the radiator return pipe as it also has a pipe to the radiator, it comes down to a T junctionat the back of the boiler and then comes accross and in lower down.