Workshop into Residential?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Guys,

I am a novice at this stuff...

Workshop into residential?

I have come across a workshop for sale in amongst a residential area, it's slotted between 2 houses. My first thoughts were how was this allowed to be put up in the first place, but then again I don't know the rules.

The premises is narrow, in the past it was probably part of the neighbours garden. The workshop is long and it takes up the whole length of what I assume was the garden. So it runs alongside the gardens of properties either side. I'll attach images at the bottom of this post.

Description:

- A 'Freehold', 'Vacant Commercial', 'Workshop\office For Occupation or Investment'.

Local Plan:

- Local Plan: The premises is located within the 'Urban Area' of the town and therefore is not classed as green belt land. The Local Plan states in relation to housing that particular encouragement is given to reuse and redevelopment of existing developed sites and conversion of existing buildings due to limited opportunities for new development.

What I'd like to do:

Obviously I am interested in the possibility of turning this into a residential property. Firstly what do you guys think of the chances of this being possible?

I understand that if it is possible that this workshop could be redeveloped into residential that I'd be restricted in what I can do. I'd ideally like to build a single storey property in the footprint of the current workshop, but add in some garden space or possibly have a section of the property with a retractable roof. The property would need to be 'squared out' or made taller than it currently is. I have read that 2.5 metres is max height for garden outbuildings. Not sure how this workshop turning into residential fits in with these rules as I also understand you can't build within 2 metres of a neighbours fence, but this workshop practically acts as the fence for both neighbours.