Y do I .. DIY

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Y do I - DIY ?

most likely for the same case as everyone else. To save money, but it gets asked all the time, why not get everything done by a competent person with top level cover etc.

In an ideal world I would every time, but

Well here's my particular case.
I am a time served engineer in mechanical engineering, a jig and tool time served draughtsman, and a product design engineer. My hands on apprentiship (4 yr) covered all methods of manufacture, turn, mill, weld, with 3 phase and single phase basic electrical training - when it was all City and Guilds and BTECH, not enough to be passed off as a full sparks - but more than qualified as a multi skilled engineer.

Time ticks on so severely once you leave the safety of the training school, and now I am looking down 25 yrs in the industry.
However, I have had to pull the purse strings the last month, as my employer - a very well known UK brake pad manufacturer has felt the pinch of the economy and all the East Asian copiers are flooding the market with similar looking products.

Yes, you query us the humble DIYer, but so many thanks to those that give so valuable free advice - I do truly appreciate your time invested. Yes I am trying to get something done on the cheap, still safe, but on the cheap.

But, from my side of the fence, how many of you reach for top flight brake pads when asked by the mechanic or how many go for the foreign budget brand. Who chooses those products made, inspected and tested by our time served british engineers. Who takes their pads to be fitted by a competent vehicle mechanic.
Which are those that change their own, who torques down the bolt with a wrench set correctly after consulting the owners manual, checks the viscosity or cleanliness of the brake fluid, or uses new every time.
The clips you removed and re use, should ideally for maximum performance also be changed at regular intervals, who uses those again and again.