1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Yet another Nest fitted with Vaillant boiler thread... :)

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by dfarry, 1 Dec 2016.

  1. dfarry

    dfarry

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all....

    I think it's possible to fit a Nest to my Vaillant 828 Turbomax boiler but I'm pretty confused about the whole thing really and there are so many different threads about doing it, I'm even more confused.

    I must say THIS thread is useful as it discusses fitting to a 824 boiler. Part of the problem or confusion for me though is that my installation doesn't have any room stat at all.... in fact it didn't even have any TSV's until I started dropping radiators off to decorate and replaced the valves or fitted new rads. Even so the vast majority of our rads have not form of heating control, except what is set at the boiler. Consequently I think we are using alot energy and not get optimum heating in our rooms.....this is where I thought the Nest might come in useful.

    I have taken a few hi-res photo's from the installation manual and copied them to Dropbox HERE and looking at PAGE 27 it would appear I just need to wire into terminals 3, 4 and 5? I'd appreciate any advice on this please.

    Also whats the best way to then set everything up.... leave the TSV's to max on and control from the NEST. Should the boiler temperature itself being increased or will this typically be running at a temperature beyond what the Nest would require to be produced in a room? I'm assuming the boiler timer will still be used and can turn everything off so effectively the boiler has three switches, the Timer, the Nest stat and the boilers own stat?

    Sorry for the really basic/thick questions, but thanks in advance for any help offered.

    Dan
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. dfarry

    dfarry

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looking at the 2015 thread that I linked to above I think I understand it and by all account as I have nothing wired in already it should be easy to do.

    Quoting @mikeyd
    So, connect boiler 3 (live) to Heatlink L and 2.
    connect boiler 4 to Heatlink 3.
    connect boiler 5(neutral) to Heatlink N

    If I can't loop in because the terminals are too small would a 2 or 3 terminal Wago connector suffice?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. jackthom

    jackthom

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    1,342
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes those connections look good. I doubt you'll have a problem linking the Live to terminal 2 in the Heatlink unless it's very heavy cable.
     
    Last edited: 2 Dec 2016
  5. dfarry

    dfarry

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Jack... :)
     
  6. Vim

    Vim

    Joined:
    20 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    im struggling with this installation as well dfarry. I think my boiler is the same as yours (pic attached with the old thermostat wiring in 3,4,5). Would you be so kind to share a pic of the connection from heatlink to your boiler? that will make my understanding of how nest is connected better and indeed may help other novices like me?

    thank you in advance
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dfarry

    dfarry

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I haven't actually bought or fitted one yet. I was going to buy one from Npower for £130 as I am a customer but they have increased the price to £160. Although still cheaper than the retail price it's still a lot of money to pay for a glorified switch.

    In the meantime my boiler has sprung a slight leak on the what I think is the DHW inlet (the boiler pressure isn't dropping). I need to take the front off so I will have a look at the electrical connections then as well.
     
  8. dfarry

    dfarry

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi again.... sorry it's been a while. In the end I got sidetracked with fixing the leak (it needed a new diverter valve) and then didn't bother with the Nest. But at the moment screwfix are selling them for £149 with a free premium (£30) stand so I couldn't resist.... I should be picking it up tomorrow and in the meantime I'm just trying to refresh my understanding of all this. :)
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page