1 wall light not working

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I’m a real novice to excuse if the below is confusing.

I’ve recently changed 3 wall lights after the walls were plastered, prior to all 3 lights worked. The wall lights run off a socket fuse.

I’ve installed all 3 however only 2 are working.

The 2 that are working have 2 live wires and 2 neutrals. The one that’s not working only has 1 of each.

I’ve swapped them around so have ruled out that is the bulbs or the light fixing that’s faulty.

I’ve used a voltage pen and confirmed the live wire is okay. I cut the neutral wire as far back as I could and spliced it with new wire.

Any ideas why isn’t not working? Also why do the other two have 2 of each cable and the last one 1?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
they are daisy chained together - so the switch/JB goes to the first light - then from the 1st light to 2nd light - hence 2 cables and then last cable to third light

do you have a test meter or just a pen
has the cable broken, or been screwed into the sleeving insulation and not onto the copper

maybe some photos

the Live wire is OK on all 3 lights - with the pen?

Thanks for the quick reply! Right okay that makes sense, it’s the last one on the circuit.

I just have a pen and all live wires are working.

I’ve made sure there’s enough copper to screw in.

I’ve attached some photos. The first one is the 2nd light hence the 2 live wires and neutral. This one works.

The 2nd photo is the last one which isn’t working.
9CD52468-23B8-4377-9E95-B0B63DB18277.jpeg

Attachments

• 267354CB-2C97-4A35-AF44-746ACDBA1F28.jpeg
    267354CB-2C97-4A35-AF44-746ACDBA1F28.jpeg
    154.3 KB · Views: 48
Mate I done it!

Like you said wasn’t screwed in properly.

So the 2nd neutral on fitting 2 obviously wasn’t in properly so didn’t pass it into the 3rd fitting.

That’s my understanding if that’s correct at all?

Sponsored Links
Great news that its fixed.

The lesson is: Your voltage pen only shows the presence of live.