2nd consumer unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a standard consumer unit which is full and would like to expand it to accommodate some outside lighting and power. Ideally I would like a second consumer unit mounted a distance away from the primary one. I’m not an electrician but want to plan and do most of the leg work. While Ill get an electrician to connect up the bits I can’t, I have a few questions if anyone could help me out?

1) Ideally I want this unit to be a totally seperate unit. e.g. come from the mains electrics and not piggyback off the first unit.

2) If 1) is possible how far can it be away from the main supply?

3) are there any other considerations with 1)?

4) Can the second consumer unit be placed outside in an IP65 rated enclosure?

Sponsored Links
I have a standard consumer unit which is full and would like to expand it to accommodate some outside lighting and power. Ideally I would like a second consumer unit mounted a distance away from the primary one. I’m not an electrician but want to plan and do most of the leg work. While Ill get an electrician to connect up the bits I can’t.
If you are not an electrician who is a member of the competent persons scheme you (he) cannot legally do any of the work you have suggested.

No, I'm not an electrician and like I mentioned, would not do the connections myself. Im wanting to know the above information to choose a site for my second consumer unit and to plan the underground wire location. 90% of the work will be digging trenches and that is what I'm planning for.

Sponsored Links
Yes,Henley blocks & Switch fuse at main incoming supply, SWA from SwFse to DB2 mounted inside enclosure.

Get an Electrician in!

Ok the Henley block looks good, and 3m length. What about mounting the 2nd consumer unit on the outside of the house?