4 way extension in trunking

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Some advice please.
I work in a school where every classroom has a 4 way extension running from a socket. These were just running on the floor and were a health and safety hazard to all the little kiddies and staff.
So being helpful, I bought some self adhesive surface trunking and mounted the 4 way on the wall and run a length of trunking from the plug to the 4 way part. So all cable was off floor and tidy causing no hazards.
We had an electrician in today who said that you should never run an extension in trunking as it breaks a ‘million’ laws... He then went on to quote for two new double sockets. :confused:
Is this true? The trunking is only being used rather than hammering cable clips in?
Cheers

Sponsored Links
Ask him to quote the laws you've broken.

AFAICT without seeing it, the only reg is that enclosing the flex in trunking may derate it. Don't have BGB with me though.

Ask the tw@t of an 'electrician' if he thinks you've made the set-up safer or more dangerous under your duty of care ?

Sponsored Links
I am sure you are very good at lots of things.

But the electrician may feel (probably rightly) that you are encroaching on his territory where he has invested the time and money to be trained and to get the contract from the CC/school/whatever to do electrical works.

He also will carry the necessary insurances to cover him in the case of something going wrong with his work. I wonder if you do?

Its not the same. He is not employed by the school or th LA. An independant chap that is sometimes used when needed. All I have done is make the classroom safer. which will always be my priority. I dont think I need any qualifications to stick a bit of trunking to the wall and put a cable in it?

Do I need to get an electrician in every time install a new pc and tidy the wires then?

Although not as neat as new sockets it doesn't sound like it is wrong, can you provide a photo?