1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

9651 and activting double knock on one zone

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by coalpit, 10 Feb 2015.

  1. coalpit

    coalpit

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Guys I need a bit of assistance please. I have a zone that every few weeks triggers the alarm and I want to try setting double knock on it. I thought that I had done this correctly but opening a window on this zone still triggers a full alarm. I thought that I would need to open and close the widow twice in a five minute period to activate the alarm.

    This is what I did. After selecting the zone in installer mode I then key in X3 and hit the tick and see that a 'D' appears which I assumed indicates that the system is now set up for double knock on this zone. I then get out of installer mode. If I'm not doing this right I would really appreciate some words of wisdom please!

    Very many thanks.

    Richard :confused:
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,243
    Thanks Received:
    1,112
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What ! Is a thief going to open and close your window ! :eek:
    :eek: :eek:
    There should be no need for a zone to be on double knock with modern alarm equipment !
     
  4. Europlex

    Europlex

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    2,948
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As sparky said.

    That is a very old idea, should have gone by now. Don't know why the option is still given.
     
  5. EightyTwo

    EightyTwo

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...but you are doing it right.

    Double knock isn't really allowed these days. It would be much better to cure the problem. Change the contact and/or fix the window catch?
     
  6. coalpit

    coalpit

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks everyone for your postings.

    My only reason, as you no doubt realize for opening and closing the window was simply to test if I had the double knock set correctly. In the event the system triggered as soon as the window was opened, whereas I had anticipated that I would have needed to repeat the action within a five minute time period to set off the alarm.

    I have ben trying to find out what is going wrong on this zone as there is just one window contact and one vibration alarm on a pair of large sliding glass doors but without success. The alarm triggers avery few weeks for no apparant reason and looking at the CCTV footage does not show any animal or person in view. I suspect that there is a fault in the circuit board of the alarm and I do have another board available, but at the moment I do not have the time and was looking for a quick get me by solution as I'm going to be away for a few days! I do not have any spare zones available BTW.

    Cheers

    Richard
     
  7. Paulj48

    Paulj48

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you suspect the fault is at the PCB in the panel then swap around the 'faulty' zone with a known good zone (reprogram as necessary) and see if the fault replicates onto the other zone.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. coalpit

    coalpit

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your suggestion. Problem is that as the fault only happens at an interval of several weeks and I go away in a few days time I do not have time to test this out<BG> I've now set the alarm to run for only ten minutes rather than 20 and as we are very rural I hope this does not upset anyone!

    Cheers

    Richard :rolleyes:
     
  10. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,243
    Thanks Received:
    1,112
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Put zone on soak test !
     
  11. coalpit

    coalpit

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your suggestion, however it seems from reading the manual that the soak test is for only 14 days howeve I surpose I could reset it after that time to see if I can pick up the fault. My quantery is that this zone covers what I consider to be the most vulnerable potential entry point and naturally I would feel very exposed leaving the alarm configured like this whilst away.

    Cheers

    RIchard
     
  12. EightyTwo

    EightyTwo

    Joined:
    14 Feb 2012
    Messages:
    1,117
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well then, your between a rock and a hard place. Either disable it (soak test or program it as NU) or leave it and risk the false alarm...
     
  13. coalpit

    coalpit

    Joined:
    13 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Thanks. I will have to keep my fingers crossed <G>

    Cheers

    Richard
     
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page