Accenta 8 Alarm Help

Joined
2 Oct 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

We have recently bought a house that has an Accenta 8 Alarm fitted and have a few questions;


Are there any replaceable batteries in the Main box in the loft, Bellbox or control panel, I would like to replace them if so.

Some of the PIR sensors are different and emit a click noise when you enter the room, can these be swapped to silent ones?

The bellbox outside is labelled up with a local companies details. I would have assumed the bellbox would have Accenta branding on it or could this be because the original failed?


Many thanks
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Jun 2014
Messages
5,772
Reaction score
751
Location
Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
I would post a picture of the equipment.

The main control panel there should be a battery (size depends on max capable and the mess if any inside the panel), the bell box will depend on the age/type.

Bell box's are internally branded with the manufacturer, often installers have stickers or buy x number of screen printed covers, rather than plain covers. Good way for us guys to advertise
 
Joined
3 Jun 2016
Messages
76
Reaction score
5
Location
Groombridge
Country
United Kingdom
The PIRs are clicking because that's the relay disengaging and re-engaging. Buying newer PIRs will reduce that click, but the sound won't go away for ever.
 
Joined
20 Jun 2014
Messages
5,772
Reaction score
751
Location
Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
Can't remember last time I heard a relay click over that annoyed me, tell a lie the smart plug relay when it was set to mimic a AMQD, so it was on and off due to traffic at the time.
 
D

Doggit

Honeywell make the accenta alarm panels, and they make Bell boxes, but they don't label the bell boxes, and other manufactureres can be used as well. As Securepspark suggest, installer can advertise unsing their labels, and give you a contact number to the new owners when they move in. If the panel is a small one, then it'll be a 2.1ah 12V battery, and you'll need to put in engineering mode before you can open the panel up to replace it. Bell boxes (being open to the elements at the back) tend to die about the same time as the battery does, so I've never repalaced one yet.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
3 Jun 2016
Messages
76
Reaction score
5
Location
Groombridge
Country
United Kingdom
Honeywell make the accenta alarm panels, and they make Bell boxes, but they don't label the bell boxes, and other manufactureres can be used as well. As Securepspark suggest, installer can advertise unsing their labels, and give you a contact number to the new owners when they move in. If the panel is a small one, then it'll be a 2.1ah 12V battery, and you'll need to put in engineering mode before you can open the panel up to replace it. Bell boxes (being open to the elements at the back) tend to die about the same time as the battery does, so I've never repalaced one yet.
It's an Accenta 8, so it was made by ADE and is most likely in a large case.
 
D

Doggit

It's the box in the loft. The normal engineering code is 9999, so press PROG, or P, then 9999, then you can open the alarm panel (carefull of the screws as they always fall out) but if the engineers code has been changed, then the alarm will go off, and you'll need to enter your normal code to silence the bell; then you can connect the battery.

Alternativly if you want to play safe, then warn the neighbours that the bells going to go off for about 5 minutes, switch off the power, and then open the panel and fit the battery.

Here's the manual if the engineers code has been changed, and you want to reset it.
 
Joined
3 Jun 2016
Messages
76
Reaction score
5
Location
Groombridge
Country
United Kingdom
Usually you press PROG then your code, then you're in a test menu. Press 0 and you can open the panel lid. To close out of engineer's mode you press RESET twice.
 
Sponsored Links
Top