1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Adding a dimmer switch to a light with 4 way switching

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by vernerbongo2, 16 Mar 2017.

  1. vernerbongo2

    vernerbongo2

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    His guys, I'm not an electrician by the way.

    Was for putting a dimmer switch on my brothers downstairs light that can be operated from any of 4 wall switches.
    Problem I have is I've found out on google I need to add the dimmer to one of the 2 way switches but they are 2 gang.
    (I have x2 2 gang 2 way switches and x2 1 gang switches 4 wire)
    Other than using a grid switch is there another way of doing it?


    Tried to be as clear as I can.


    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    18,585
    Thanks Received:
    1,744
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not really the grid switch is only way to mix and match dimmer and non dimmer switches. With two way switches the dimmer is wired slightly different, instead of linking both coms together you use a slave and master dimmer and link the slave together. I think there are also on/off switches today using the slave rather than com system. I have a MiHome switch with a slave connection, odd nothing in instructions on what the slave is for. I would assume you can hard wire to second switch, however in that case not sure why you would want to? as it can be switched with a remote or phone or PC or have times set.

    This link explains how to wire with master and slave.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    37,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,288
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is one example of how to fit one standard dimmer into a switching system.

    Click minigrid. It is a kind of grid system, but looks much like a normal "domestic" switch.

    Let's say you want a white one.

    To mount a dimmer and a rocker you would need a 3 module 1 gang sized plate, so CMA403.

    The reason for this is that you need two modules for the dimmer.

    Then you'd need MD002WH, 2 way switch module.

    Then MD150WH, which is a dimmer mount kit - not sure whether your existing box will be deep enough.

    Then (for example) an MD9042 which is a 400W/ VA 2 way dimmer module.

    See the catalogue:
    https://www.scolmore.com/_pdfs/minigrid.pdf
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or buy a twin dimmer and replace the non-dimmed switch wire with a 'dummy dimmer' which is just an on-off push button switch that looks like a dimmer. We use this method quite a lot, probably more often than grid switches as it looks much neater when finished.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm trying to remember if I've ever seen a non-touch master/slave dimmer...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That won't work.
    He needs a master and 3 slaves.
     
  8. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    37,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,288
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The OP also said:
    Followed by:
    Maybe not...
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,431
    Thanks Received:
    4,199
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    If it would work.

    Two 2-way (which are two gang) and two intermediates (which are 1-gang)

    Not too bad.

    :)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. vernerbongo2

    vernerbongo2

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    (y)
    correct (y)
     
    Last edited: 17 Mar 2017
  12. vernerbongo2

    vernerbongo2

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All this chat about slaves, I just want one dimmer switch.
    Can I just swap out a 2 gang switch with grid switches then, without slaves etc?
    I also ike the idea of a dimmer and false dimmer.
     
    Last edited: 17 Mar 2017
  13. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    37,138
    Thanks Received:
    1,288
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK - my apologies - I took "putting a dimmer switch on my brothers downstairs light that can be operated from any of 4 wall switches" to mean he wanted to be able to operate the dimming from any of the 4 switches.

    And if the quote above is not a good example of why this useless, poxy "feature" of not nesting quotes is a disaster, I don't know what is. :evil::evil::evil:
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it that your brother is aware that after this is done he will be able to turn the lights on and off from any of the switches, just as he currently can, but he will only be able to control the brightness from the dimmer? That if he turns them on from another switch they will come on at the brightness they were last set at by the dimmer and if that's not what he wants he'll then have to walk over to the dimmer and fiddle with it?

    And he's happy with that?

    I can't help thinking that a room which needs 4 switches must be on the large side....
     
  16. vernerbongo2

    vernerbongo2

    Joined:
    5 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Apologies to anyone who couldn't pick up on what I was asking or ment.
    Ban-all-sheds forgot to mention it is the downstairs hallway a switch at each door.
    Yes I understand and my brother understands one dimmer would set the light level.
    Thanks for all the input and banter :)
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page