Adhesive for 30cm x 30cm wall tiles

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I'm about to start my first tiling job and just want to be sure I've eveythign boxed off.

The tiles are 8mm ceramic wall tiles 300mm x 300mm and won't be exposed to more water than splashes. The walls have been recently skimmed and the area of the tiles has had a mist coat but i will scrape down before starting. The walls are solid walls apart from one small side which is the back of a partition wall for sliding wardrobes.

I assumed no special adhesive but I'm thinking flexible due to the possible movement on the partition wall when the wardrobes are opened and closed against the wall. I will buy ready mixed as it's my first time I'm not confident to get the consistency correct.

Also, when applying the trowel lines should the teeth touch the wall or a thin layer of adhesive still be in the lines?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
300x300mm take its a bathroom then?
rough walls up as you have said
prime walls with sbr
bagged flexi addy
mix nice thick an creamy
apply to wall with 8mm notched trowel,you will want to spread addy over about 1m2 then finish on the 45 (across) wall.
8mm notch will give you a 8mm rib then when you apply tile onto ribs twisting into the rib, will go down to 4mm..jobs a good un... ;)

Tiles are really too large/heavy for tub redi mix, you need to use a cement powder based adhesive as stated. It goes off quicker so observe the pot life & only mix up as much as you can use – usually in 30-40 minutes. With cement adhesives, the plaster must be primed with APD prior to tiling to prevent possible reaction. The stud wall will need flexible adhesive & grout so you might as well use the same product on the lot rather than buying 2 lots. Use quality trade adhesive & grout products rather than the DIY stuff which generally isn’t very good.