Advice needed on building strong floating shelf on a stud wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello experts

'Somebody' in my house thought this floating shelf with a clothes rail underneath would be a great idea in our bedroom. I agree totally of course, but as I'm the one with a shed full of tools (that I'm not an expert with) I now have to make it happen.

Please can anyone offer advice on these specifics:

* Materials and design for a DIY floating shelf like the one in the picture
* Appropriate fixings for the weight it's going to take - it's going on a stud wall but I do at least know where all the studs are as I had the foresight to mark them on the skirting before the wall was painted
* Fixings for the rail - presumably there would need to be a beefed up bit of timber on the shelf's internals to get a good fix
* Where on earth to buy a rail like that...?

The shelf doesn't need to be that long. If 800mm (or whatever) is advisable due to strength/sagging concerns I can just make more than one.

Also, if I really have to, I could add a couple of brackets if the floating idea is unworkable. I know it's been done in this interior designer's picture but there are only a few toddler garments on there...

Looking forward to hearing your opinions.
Thanks,
JJ

FloatingShelfWithRail.jpg

Sponsored Links
Stud wall not ideal as overloading could damage the wall. But mdf would be easiest to get a good paint finish on.
Rail is very easy just standard wardrobe fixings or even a towel rail or shower riser.

Is it going in alcove, easier to get a stronger fixing if you can mount between walls.

Hi - not in an alcove unfortunately. That would make things much easier.

Sponsored Links
So my idea of drilling right through the wall and passing a long coach bolt through is not going to work then!

If it were brick I'd suggest threaded rod and resin. Some variation on that might work into the studwork.