Advice on steam showers

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am thinking of having a steam shower installed in the loft bathroom - can anyone please give me some advice on these things from experience or as installers.

I have never used a domestic one before although I have seen a working demo model at a showroom but don't know much about them. The one in the showroom was a Hans Grohe and cost quite a bit. I was surprised to see how many types and makes there were when I browsed the internet - most of them quite reasonably priced, around £1500-£2000 for a 1200 x 900mm model, and nowhere near the price of the Hans Grohe.

Are there things to look for and what to avoid - maybe some makes are more prone to faulty components, poor build quality, no spares, hard to service etc. Hans Grohe are a reputable name hence the price, but it wasn't particulary different in appearance or functions from the others I've seen on the internet.

Sponsored Links
I am thinking of having a steam shower installed in the loft bathroom - can anyone please give me some advice on these things from experience or as installers.
Don't do it.

The one in the showroom was a Hans Grohe and cost quite a bit.
That's because it will assemble more easily, will go wrong less often, and will have spares available.

I was surprised to see how many types and makes there were when I browsed the internet - most of them quite reasonably priced, around £1500-£2000 for a 1200 x 900mm model
The purchase cost is very much not the same as the total cost of ownership.

Are there things to look for and what to avoid
Avoid buying one.

If you buy one, avoid installing it.

If you install it, avoid using it.

If you use it, don't be surprised at what happens next.