Alpha CB24 no hot water to nightmare !!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
To put you in the picture.....

I am a corgi gas engineer, I work with fires and cookers not boilers, so i have no prior knowledge of the workings of boilers, with that in mind i will explain my problem.
Two days ago My Moms boiler, an Alpha cb24 was only working on the heating, the water was cold or luke warm at best. It is two or three years old, don't know exactly.
The chap who installed the boiler does most of his work away from the area now and is a bu**er to get hold of, but i managed to catch him last night, after i explained what was happening he gave me a couple of things it could be, the DHW sensor or the Diaphragm.
Off i went today and purchased both parts from the local supplier, studied the service and repair manual, the countless posts on here about the same problem and then set to work.

I fitted both parts, yes it was a bit of a pain to get to some of the nuts, but all was well, or so i thought, i changed the sensor first, made no difference at all, i removed the heat exchanger, cleaned and flushed it through, it was clean as a whistle, finally i removed the diaphragm, it was rotten as a pear, i was chuffed when i saw this as i thought this was the problem.
Anyway, after putting it all back together, nothing, no hot water, no heating, fan starts, pump is running but it doesn't fire up.

What a bummer, at least before i messed with it mother had heating! needless to say i am in the dog house and i can't get in touch with the fitter, he is probably in a pub in london somewhere.

Any help at all would be appreciated before i find a fitter who might get me out of the mire.

Ray

Sponsored Links
Cant picture the boiler in my head but if the pump is running and nothing else then id suggest that theres a flow switch somewhere.

Hunt this down and manually make it / bridge it out and see if this fires up the boiler