amateur wood cutting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am very new to the world of woodworking. My project/resolution for this year is too learn how to build a guitar, I have got hold of all the materials needed etc. But I have already come across my first issue. When getting some mahogany down to size for the neck today I managed to get quite uneven, this was because I was using the other neck timber as a guide so they would sit flush but my jigsaw couldn't manage the depth and result has been pretty bad. Does anyone have any good suggestions to straighten out the cut. I am thicking the best way would be to put all of my neck timber into a workbench and plane then all at the same time until even. Is this the best practice or is there something better I could do?

Sponsored Links
bandsaw and spoke shave
you are rather going in at the deep end without the correct tools
you really need to build up your skills gradually to understand how materials and tool interact with each other

If your putting in a truss rod, route out the channel for this before cutting anything else (so you have a straight edge to go off). Mark the neck and cut it oversized. Don't cut it to the almost finished size. When you have cut and shaped the fretboard (to the finished size) this gets glued to the neck. When that's done you can then work on the neck with spokeshaves, planes and sandpaper etc to bring it down to the finished size.
Just a word of warning,,, I'd expect your project to take up to a year. Simply planing a piece of timber, can make the timber move a bit, so take your time and don't try to rush things.
I've built a few guitars and at least once I've had to throw a neck away as it's moved after being worked on (actually twisted in such a way as to be unrecoverable) But that's natural timber for you. ;) ;) ;)

Here's a link to a Les Paul type neck being made
http://members.fortunecity.com/jtfish/lpc/neck/nck.htm

Sponsored Links