An iron for the 21st century

HSK

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey all

I’m a student at university currently studying Product Design. My major project for the year is based on bringing the design of the clothes iron into the 21st century, as the majority of the products out on the market are all conventional forms and designs.
Research is obviously a large and important aspect of the project, therefore I was wondering if people could answer the following questions for me as it would be of great use to discover the opinions of the varying general public.

What method is used by yourself to complete the ironing process, from the washer/dryer through to the finished ironing (are clothes ironed in piles straight out of the washer/dryer, do you iron clothes only when going to be worn, are particular types of garments ironed first, etc)?

Is there any other activity undertaken while doing the ironing (e.g. listening to music, having something to drink, watching tv, etc)?

Are there any ergonomic issues with irons which have had an affect on different body postures (e.g. hand postures, overall standing posture) and are any particular functions on irons more difficult to use than others?

What would you like to see in the new generation iron that would make it not only easier but also less of a chore?

What ‘inventions’ and innovative features of irons nowadays have really helped with the ironing process?

Any other issues with ironing that could be resolved?

Thank you for taking the time to reply to this post, it would be extremely useful to my study. If the age and gender of the poster could also be included that would be very helpful, as it would allow me to define what varying sets of people think.

Thank you all once again.

Sponsored Links