Any reason you can't use a Sonoff POW as a IOT on / off for a combi boiler?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Knottyboy, 16 Nov 2017.

  1. Knottyboy

    Knottyboy

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Evening,

    A gentleman (or woman) helped me out here by confirming my assumptions on how a boiler works with a thermostat. This got me thinking...

    So I've moved into a house that doesn't have a thermostat wired in to the boiler. I have a Voker Linea HE Combi boiler. All we do at the moment is turn the boiler from summer mode (ie no heat) to winter mode. Is there any reason I can't leave it on winter mode and wire in a Sonoff POW to complete the circuit and turn this mode on and off?

    Details:

    Sonoff POW

    I plan to wire it in place of the thermostat, like this.

    If I'm being absolutely stupid and ignorant to something I'm sorry, could you explain why this would be a stupid idea if this is the case.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,033
    Thanks Received:
    10,115
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no reason why you cant the thermostat connections from the boiler are just a switch
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Knottyboy

    Knottyboy

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's pretty much my understanding. I can't see that the connection would be more than the 3500w the Sonoff POW can handle as well.
     
  5. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,641
    Thanks Received:
    2,673
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I can tell the sonoff needs 240vac to work so you cant interrupt the thermostat (its not carrying 240vac) and you cant use it on the mains as it would kill the boiler ie no hot water, save up and buy a nest or hive.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Knottyboy

    Knottyboy

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The site states it ranges from 90 - 240, and there are live and neutrals I can use. Am I just being really thick here (please feel free to say so).
     
  7. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,641
    Thanks Received:
    2,673
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Capture.PNG

    What live and neutrals do you intend to use ?
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Knottyboy

    Knottyboy

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, after some reading I get you. Could I not use a battery power RF switch then for Volt-Free switching?

    Edit: Gentle reminder, idiot here.
     
  10. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    10,641
    Thanks Received:
    2,673
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use a thermostat ! its what its designed for, completely automatic, switches off and on with temperature and they do ones that connect to internet, alexa ect ect
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. You're not being thick, but you're trying to be too clever for your own good - no offence meant.

    Fit a thermostat or a programmable one, and you'll have better comfort levels, and cheaper fuel bills, and you'll really be proud of yourself for having done the job properly.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,033
    Thanks Received:
    10,115
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry just looked at the wiring diagram , no you cant use this, all it does is switch N&L you need something that has a 240 supply but voltage free switching
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Knottyboy

    Knottyboy

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well it was fate, my phone sent me a notificiation today saying 33% off Hive. Clicked on it and John Lewis were doing the Hive + Install for £179 (with delivery). I'm a bit of an amazon addict so thought I'd check if they have it on offer too, low and behold amazon are doing the Hive + Install for £159.99. At a £90 saving that's me sold. Thanks for the comments and information.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page