1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Boiler wiring help wanted, please; Vokera Linea 28HE to Drayton LP711

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by BenWood, 17 May 2017.

  1. BenWood

    BenWood

    Joined:
    17 May 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I was hoping someone could just confirm that I have the right wiring setup to let me install a Drayton LP711.

    My boiler is a combi Vokera Linea 28HE. It currently does not have a time clock. To turn the heating on I select Winter in the mode selector. Hot water is on demand always on, so single channel.

    I just wanted to confirm that I have worked out the correct wiring from the diagrams from both manufactures. In my image I have labelled all the wires to make it easier for me to understand.

    I want to check that from LP711

    N connects to 2b/d
    L connects to 3b/d
    1 (COM) connects to 5a/b
    3 (ON) connects to 4a/b
    L & 1 (COM) lopped/linked together

    Vokera Linea 28 HE Wiring.png


    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,480
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,480
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK
    You need two cables

    One 3- core cable with live, neutral and earth from the boiler's mains input (1a, 1b and 1c). This connects to the L and N at teh LP711. You'll need a terminal block to 'park' the earth.

    Then you need another 3-core cable from 4b and 5b on the boiler (remove the link!) to connect to 1 and 3 on the LP711
    Do not install a link between L and 1 on the LP711.
    You must earth this cable at both ends

    EDIT. A proper heating engineer would use a single 5-core flex, but I expect you don't have a length of that in your garage?....so two lengths of 3 core flex will do you.
     
  4. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    58,385
    Thanks Received:
    2,988
    Location:
    21st Century
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    if the timer backplate is fixed to the boiler panel, I suppose it could be wired in single cores.
     
  5. BenWood

    BenWood

    Joined:
    17 May 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you for your replies.

    I currently have a 3 core + plus earth cable, 2m in length.

    Does that mean 1b, 2c and 3c are disconnected? Or that I conenct to 2b & 3b?

    Sorry I'm struggling to visulise.
     
  6. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,480
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you disconnect them you will not have any power to the boiler!

    Leave them connected and add the new wire to take power also to the new timer.
     
  7. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    9,432
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why don't you fit a timer/thermostat instead of just a timer ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. BenWood

    BenWood

    Joined:
    17 May 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Picasso, I live in a small studio flat so effectly a single box. All the rads have TRVs on them so I just set the temp at the boiler and on the values. So I didnt really feel the need for a thermostat.

    Okay cool, so I need to get another cord them for the earth as I currently only have 4 cores. Thanks.
     
  9. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,480
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The earth needs to be part of the flex, not separate.
     
  10. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    9,432
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would be better fitting a stat rather than a timer, trvs are not a good way of controlling a boiler.
     
  11. BenWood

    BenWood

    Joined:
    17 May 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool, thanks for the heads up. In that case I'll find me some cable.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  12. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,480
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The basic premise is (generally) mains-carrying cables should contain an earth conductor (aka. cpc).

    Does not apply to Class II /double insulated equipment. just to head off the pedants.
     
  13. BenWood

    BenWood

    Joined:
    17 May 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Excllent. Thanks for the info.

    I have my 4 core for my L N E, and have been given a 2 core for my COM and ON, so that'll be my evening project.

    I'll let you know how it goes.
     
  14. AGAS

    AGAS

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2014
    Messages:
    9,528
    Thanks Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    down south
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can only advise, but some people don't want to take that advice even thou it is a better option:)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. picasso

    picasso

    Joined:
    8 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    9,432
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What can you do :rolleyes:
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page