hive heating won't turn on Keston C30 Combi Boiler HELP!!

Joined
18 Oct 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone

I recently had a new boiler installed (Keston C30 Combi) with the Hive Active Heating Thermostat. I haven't used the heating till today as it was summer so I switched my boiler from summer mode to winter mode.

When I turn my heating up on my thermostat it says its turn on and heating but the boiler hasn't fired up. Clueless on what seems to be the problem.

I've attached reference images of the wiring and thermostat. Please help!
 

Attachments

  • 31a65b10-7b5e-49ac-9ce6-8488811e4263.jpg
    31a65b10-7b5e-49ac-9ce6-8488811e4263.jpg
    63.5 KB · Views: 301
  • 811b6ffe-29cb-4e72-b545-62376fb5e65c.jpg
    811b6ffe-29cb-4e72-b545-62376fb5e65c.jpg
    115.7 KB · Views: 453
  • bf002a50-f71e-40da-9a9e-b7886798fc5e.jpg
    bf002a50-f71e-40da-9a9e-b7886798fc5e.jpg
    119.6 KB · Views: 354
  • ea6abc5a-9cd7-4b33-afb9-33600f804ea6.jpg
    ea6abc5a-9cd7-4b33-afb9-33600f804ea6.jpg
    54.8 KB · Views: 279
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,054
Reaction score
1,756
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Most combi boilers provide instantaneous hot water when a tap is opened, so they don't have a hot water cylinder. In this case the single channel Hive as per below is used just for the central heating.

single.jpg



Your photo below shows a dual channel Hive with central heating and hot water which is used for systems with a hot water cylinder. Whilst it's not impossible to have a hot water cylinder connected to a combi, it would be very unusual. Do you?

ea6abc5a-9cd7-4b33-afb9-33600f804ea6.jpg


Then we come to the wiring, for a combi with a single channel Hive terminals 1 and 3 would be used, for a dual channel Hive with stored hot water terminals 3 and 4 would be used, your wiring is connected to 2 and 4 so corresponds to neither, and terminal 2 (heating off) is never used in any UK boiler installation.

Time to get the installer back to sort out his mess. How did he manage to commission the boiler?
 
Joined
18 Oct 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, no I don't just standard combi boiler! Ouch, so if I change the wiring will the CH work? Or is it absolutely required for me to go out and get a new single-channel receiver?
 
Joined
15 Aug 2010
Messages
25,775
Reaction score
12,187
Location
Livingston
Country
United Kingdom
It is possible to configure the wiring to work, but you will have to forget any HW control settings on your Hive, get your installer back they have messed up
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,054
Reaction score
1,756
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
As @ianmcd says, you can use a dual channel Hive with a combi, it will work, but it's a bit of a bodge as the hot water control facility will be visible on the app and receiver but won't actually be doing anything, so you should get the installer back.

Because this is a new boiler installation you shouldn't have to do anything. Insist that the installer change the Hive for the correct version and rectify their appalling workmanship. Even if the Hive was changed for a Single Channel version the wiring is still wrong and needs to be rectified, and the quality is poor on so many levels. There's a blue wire (blue wire indicates neutral) being used as a live in terminal 2, those flexible cables don't look as if there are any cable clamps or clips to hold them in place and prevent strain on the terminals, there is too much copper exposed, and the sheath should extend into the backplate so the cores aren't visible when the hive receiver is in place.

I assume the boiler was installed legally by a Registered Gas Installer (Gas Safe) in which case if they don't comply with your request, show them this thread and inform them that you will inform Gas Safe of their terrible work. Apart from it being the wrong device and incorrectly installed, there is no way that the heating could be tested and the boiler properly commissioned.
 
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
20,280
Reaction score
2,012
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
I agree with stem however I had a problem with my central heating when I moved into this house, I have had three people involved with fixing it, a plumber, a chippy, and a oil heating engineer. The chippy was quite good at the electrics, well to be fair he as a degree in electrical engineering, but both the plumber and heating engineer admit they have never fitted or worked with what I have fitted and to be frank I was surprised.

OK I am an electrical engineer so I could design a complex system, however I want some thing which when I get older some one can fix it without my input, so fitted Nest Generation 3 and Energenie TRV heads. It's not rocket science but here in mid Wales it seems they are not used.

However to be fair both the plumber and heating engineer were frank and said if I wanted full control either I had to DIY or leave it to the chippy.

But the plumber knew his limit, when I wanted a service he got in the oil heating engineer, if he can't do it, then it's up to him to get in some one who can.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,054
Reaction score
1,756
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
For a combi the number of wires here is also a puzzle. If the fused spur supplied the mains supply directly to the boiler, I would use only 3 wires for 230V switching and 4 wires if using 24v switching, yet here we have 8 wires!! Something just isn't adding up....and the OP's has gone a bit quiet.....
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,674
Reaction score
3,279
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
For a combi the number of wires here is also a puzzle. If the fused spur supplied the mains supply directly to the boiler, I would use only 3 wires for 230V switching and 4 wires if using 24v switching, yet here we have 8 wires!! Something just isn't adding up....and the OP's has gone a bit quiet.....

It's also a puzzle why they've used a crappy on/off Hive on an OpenTherm boiler...
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top