Anyone fitted a sunpipe in a bathroom?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Guys,

I have an 18cm sunpipe fitted into my bathroom ceiling

http://www.sunpipe.co.uk/

it is NOT located over the shower.

My question is the unit can be fitted with a 12V light fitting inside for nightime use.

however I doubt any of it is IP rated.

since the fitting is located inside a sealed fitting is this this an issue when used in a bathroom?

thanks in advance.

Mark.

Sponsored Links
I want one one of those Sunpipes! Did you get Moondraft to fit it or a local roofer (or DIY)? How long did it take to fit? What is the daylight like through it?

Back to the electricals, I'm not an electrician and this is a personal opinion, but I don't think there would be a problem since the diffuser is sealed to the unit.

On the face of it, it's no different to my window above the bathroom door and having no bathroom-specific requirements for the fixed light on the landing.

The transformer and lamp are outside the bathroom, so while installing the light falls under Part P, I wouldn't have thought is notifiable, providing the lamp is in the loft.

James pretty much my take on it as well.

ref the sunpipe, I have a number of the 12" ones around the house and they work really well too brighten up dim areas.

I went with an 18" in the bathroom as there is no other light source at all.

I was expecting great things but was still surprised, I get more light through it than than through the window of the room next door and thats a 4ft by 4ft window.

definately worth doing, howver be aware that the 18" isn't cheap and will likely require cutting a joist in the loft.

I used a local installer who has done them for me before he charges £150 which is significantly cheaper than the official price, though to be honest it's easily a DIY job.

I paid someone as

a) I don't like heights and
b) if it ever leeks I have someone to shout at.

Mark.

DIYnot Local

Staff member