Banging from CH pipes and hot water cylinder

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, hope you can help a complete novice here.

Though the system was fine when first installed by a professional, lately I have been getting very loud noises when my system is switched on.

Firstly, if hot water is turned on you can hear a fizzing noise coming from inside the hot water cylinder. This can sometimes be loud enough to wake me up in the morning and lasts as long as the water is being heated up - if I turn the thermostat on the cylinder down, then the sound goes away.

Secondly, and of greater concern, is that when the central heating comes on via the timer, in the first minute or so there is a deafening bang (only one or two bangs at most) - loud enough to be heard in any part of the house, come from somewhere within the central heating system. I have tried in vain to pinpoint exactly the source of the bang however the noise does not appear to come from the boiler.

I am slightly clueless as to how my system works but can tell you I have a MAXI boiler, that has a vent going straight out of an outside wall which sounds like it vents steam and that the only thing in my loft is a cold water tank. I asked a seemingly clueless plumber what the cause of the big bang was and he suggested it may have been caused by a rubber ball in a small metal box next to my hot water cylinder that controlled water flow (see told you I was clueless). Would this be right?

Can anyone suggest what my problems are, and how they are best dealt with. Am happy to have a go at stuff myself, with guidance, and answer any follow up questions that may be needed.

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
witht he cylinder do you have the immersion on? as these normally make the hissing noise you describe and I have never come across this when the boiler is providing the heat