bathroom extractor fan

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there, I am a complete novice on all things diy and am looking for some advice on replacing a bathroom extractor fan. I do not intend to do this myself but am looking for some guidance on the type of fan that we can have.

We have shower room measuring 1.2meters in width, 3.2meters in length & 2.45meters in height, it is an internal room with no windows or external vents.

Currently we have a Greenwood Airvac extractor fan that comes on immediately when the light switch is pulled and stays on about 10 minutes after the light is switched off, it has a flume that runs across the loft ceiling to a vent outside and is exceptionally noisy! We live in new houses and our neighbours also have the same fan, when they turn theirs on at 6am, it is so loud that it wakes my son up.

Unfortunately I do not know that the exisiting model type is only the brand name.

We are looking at replacing our fan with ideally a silent one and suggesting that our neighbours do the same!!!

any advice would be appreciated

Sponsored Links
These fans (Screwfix 15927) are pretty quiet, although all will produce some noise......maybe yours is excessively so due to vibration or resonance?
Either way, when you go looking for a replacement, you need to track down a timed one of the same size. Popular hole sizes are 112mm, but some are 100mm - a little homework is needed there.
You'll pay anything between £10 and £60, depending on the design and specification.
John :)

Sponsored Links
Bet it`s surface mounted and about 1980`s build :idea: - covered in dust and would benifit from a thoro` clean - might help a bit - but we were chucking them and fitting new back in late 80`s :LOL:

thank you for your replies, like I said I am a novice so can only describe what I see,

The fan was fitted about 4 years ago so I am assuming is that old.

It has been cleaned a few times but the noise has never lessened.