Becoming a plumber

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

First post so go easy on me.

I'm in a job and id like a career change - youve all probably heard this all before but i havnt heard the answers so hang with me.

I flirted with the idea of plumber training a couple of years ago but never followed it up as i thought it was just a 5 minute thing. a couple of years down the line i still feel 'up for the challenge'

Im not a total novice when it comes to plumbing - ive helped various people out here and there with the odd bathroom, im not bad on pipe work, soldering, bonding, tiling etc. replaced a few sinks and i know my way around a tool box and the whole 'trade environment'

I'm 25, and i do have the normal commitments (mortgage and household bills) and im looking into (with caution) these fast track plumbing courses and here comes my first question....opinions on such courses?

Ideally id like to be self employed however working for someone first is a must for me - if im going to do this im not running before i can walk - im guessing this is a good way to go about things?

and finally, what certificates does a 'fully qualified plumber' need? and what accredited schemes does one need to be a member of?

and a final comment - i understand that there are other constraints if i wish to work with gas - again, lets not run before i can walk.

Thanks for taking the time to read and reply!

Sponsored Links
Firstly welcome! :D