Bleeding oil line after running out...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Anyone now how I bleed my Grant combi 90

We ran out of oil, had a deliverey yesterday to find it's not working, after lots of googling I think I need to bleed it but does anyone know how to do this?

The house is freezing.

I will be very grateful if anyone can help.

Sponsored Links
The head from the tank should be enough to push the oil through, all you have to do is bleed the air out from somewhere - that may involve either cracking a joint or if you have a dedicated bleed screw that's even better.

Nozzle

Ok... I'm not very good at things like this.

Would I "crack" the joint outside near the large green plastic tank or inside the house where the boiler is?

Where would the bleed screw be? What does it look like?

Thanks.

Crack open the joint where the flexible pipe within the boiler casing enters the oil pump.......have a load of kitchen roll handy!
John :)

Sponsored Links
Sorry but which part is the pump?

Is it the large red circle thing?

I have posted a picture of the burner on my profile.

Thanks

The big red thing is actually the expansion vessel.
The burner is at the bottom, and has that big diameter flexy air snorkel tube going to it.
The pipe you need is a bright steel braided flexy pipe, carrying the oil from the tank to the burner. You need to crack that open as near to the burner as possible, really.
I can't enlarge your photo but that might be it, bottom left.

Ok, should I turn the burner on while doing the above?

Please excuse the spelling mistake in first post... Know not now. :eek:

You have to link to it using the "IMG" button in the reply window. It'll give you two tags [ img] and [ /img] and you need to supply a link between these two tags

Nozzle

GALLERY]

Can you see that metal pipe, white plastic coated, that enters the boiler casing bottom right?
That looks like the oil supply to me (with the black plastic tap very near to the burner).