Block wall labour price

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
OK, bit of a strange one. Got a friend of a friend building a garden wall for me using concrete block. The wall is 20m x 0.9m. Footings are all in place and the materials are being supplied by me. This lad is a brickie by trade and he reckons it will take him about a day and a half (with me mixing).

Problem is he's only young and he's always worked for his uncle so he's not too clever on pricing so he's just told me to pay him what I think it's worth!

So what's it worth?

How much should I offer to pay him to build this wall for 1.5 days (Sat/Sun)?

Of course, if Mr Darling happens to have stumbled across this post I can assure him this is just hypothetical and the wall and the brickie are imaginary and do not exist - for tax reasons).

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Where you are depends on the rate

But £180 would be fair for a properly built wall in these circumstances.

If he is still learing and the time relates to lack of experience than you may be looking at £130-150

We're in Manchester. The brickie isn't a teenager - he's time served - he has just always worked for someone else so he never has to price up any work. Bit awkward really because he should know but I don't want to offend him either.

Maybe if I get him an HMV voucher?

..... but I don't want to offend him either.

Maybe if I get him an HMV voucher?

These two statements don't go together :eek:

He should be asking for at least what he would normally get per day. And there is no 1/2 day, so really he would want two-days pay.

He may be just shy, but I can guarantee that even if he has not said a price, he certainly does have one in his mind.

Really, you should ask him what he would normally get paid per day and offer him that. And if you are happy with the job then you pay a bit more

Sponsored Links