Boiler Query

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I am currently looking at an extension on my property. To gain access to a new upstairs bedroom the cupboard door where the hot water tank is situated will be used. This means the hot water tank will have to be moved into the loft.

The property is 7 years old and the boiler is in the kitchen with a hot water tank in a cupboard upstairs. I'm no expert by any means but I have a couple of questions someone may be able to answer to assist me in my modifications:

1. As the extension will be an extra 3 rooms and approx 5 radiators will my boiler be able to cope (or does this have nothing to do with the boiler? :?: ) with the extra radiators?

2. Is it an easy job (for a decent plumber) to move the hot water tank into the loft space?

3. Even though I have 2 bathrooms would it be easier whilst I am extending to switch to a combi-boiler and get rid of the hot water tank?

The boiler is a Baxi Solo 3 50 PF and also says Baxi Solo 3 PF 30/80

Apologies for all the questions but I'm new to this!!

Sponsored Links
1) Impossible to answer as you do not give enough detail
2) Not really possible, assuming that it is a vented cylinder
3) Most people would say no

You might be better off thinking in terms of:-

1) A storage combi
2) An unvented cylinder
3) A thermal store

But it is still impossible to comment without knowing a lot more about your property, mains flow rate etc

EliteHeat said:
1) Impossible to answer as you do not give enough detail
2) Not really possible, assuming that it is a vented cylinder
3) Most people would say no

You might be better off thinking in terms of:-

1) A storage combi
2) An unvented cylinder
3) A thermal store

But it is still impossible to comment without knowing a lot more about your property, mains flow rate etc

1) What extra detail is required and I'll try and provide it?
2) How do I know if it's a vented cylinder?

Thanks

Details required are:-