boiler service quotes, costs and problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello

we have a problem with the boiler here. my mum contacted a boiler repairman and he came round and started work. I asked him for a quote and he ignored me. is this normal? don't trades men have an hourly rate or is it by the job. if he doesn't know the job I understand that he cant quote. but he got a little defensive when I asked for a quote. I work as an electrician. and people ask me how long most of the time. I say a rough estimate. this could provide a basic cost. I don't mind saying how long and the basic cost.
I don't know anything about boilers but I would like to get a quote before hand and some idea what could be wrong and the possible cost. I took my car to a repair shop and they quoted £780 and it will fail the mot without this work, I took my car to mot they said £230, I did the jobs myself for less than £100. so I think that there is some reason for concern. I don't want my parents paying out for something that could be fixed at home or for a lesser cost and certainly don't want to be taken for a ride.
what is expected or what should I expect from a boiler repair man?
should I be allowed an answer?
when I asked about the quote he said "whos paying for it? you?". I then asked further and he ignored me. is there anything wrong with getting a basic quote. he told me that there was a problem with the vessel and that could cost £100 to repair. he also mentioned that a new clock would cost £40.

what should I expect?

thanks
peter

Sponsored Links
I think the simple rule is to ask what the charges are BEFORE they start work. I guess the fact that you asked the boilerman after ha had started made him think you were chasing him to finish and get out? Also, as you hadn't been the one to instruct him that may have also put him on the defensive.