Boiler troubleshooting - where to draw the line

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HI, and apologies in advance if I get it wrong with my first post. I have checked your wiki and the FAQ and links as well as many other posts. My simple question is where is the line drawn on what I can and can do myself to my boiler? I should add that I use a healthy does of common sense so my example is:
1) I have an intermittent fault on a glow worm Ultimate 30FF (gets as far as running fan, sometimes spark, 'clonk' from gas valve, spark, pilot and ignition or sometimes just flue fan runs forever with no attempt at ignition)
2) When it fails next I am more than comfortable (I am an Electrical and Electronic Engineer) to make the electrical checks in the fault finding chart.
3) SHould it point to PCB failure I am also more than capable to change the PCB this does not necessarily make me a legally 'competent' person to do though however.

It would be great to understand if anyone knows the position for the above(also how common PCB failure is in this type of boiler - its about 8 years old)

My broad view is that anything that does not directly touch or interfere with the gas or exhaust would be OK but I have no real basis for this. (If in this example I screwed up the PCB replacement then the boiler would just not work.

As a further example if the fault finding pointed to a faulty air pressure switch or a faulty soleniod then whilst I am still comfortable I could replace these with ease, since they directly affect either the gas or exhaust then I would need a Gas Safe certified person to make these changes.

Would be great to understand where the line is drawn.

thanks L

Sponsored Links