Boiler Vent cost

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Quiz time.

How much do you think to remove a Kingfisher II RS50.B (old but not used much and serviced reg) from a base cupboard, drill a top vent in the external wall at the back of the cupboard and put the boiler back again? This is at first floor level, so ladder work needed I guess. (reason is, BG made us put a vent in the worktop and now we are upgrading to granite and getting new cupboard doors and don't fancy making holes in them, also the circulating warm air leaves a grey mark all up the wall above the worktop vent.)

As a non-heating engineer my guess is about 3 hours, so about £100+VAT? (so, actually about £200?!) Or will it need servicing / break and escalate to 4 figures... :rolleyes:

This is in Poole area.

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
From your description, I can't see that the boiler needs removing at all, it just needs a pilot hole drilling through to outside then a core bit drilling back through, or even from the same side. The vent would need to be clear of the boiler to be effective, so I see no reason to remove it. It's just for cooling as the boiler is room-sealed so it should be a simple job. 150 should cover it.

It has to accessible for inspection though doesn't it? If you can only see it from outside and can't see right through to the boiler then it's still NCS.

I think!....??

This is a boiler under a worktop so there would presumably be nowhere to drill from inside if the boiler is in place.

All I can say is that we would be quoting about £500 to remove the boiler, drill and reinstall.

Drilling a 100 mm core hole from the outside, about £150 or less if the ladder was supplied on site.

Tony

Sponsored Links