Bonding confusion

jcp

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am not an electrician, but a competent DIY enthusiast – all things on the house and cars! I am sorry for the length of this post, but I have found a lot of confusion on bonding. I have tried to explain some of my misgivings in the next three paragraphs (skip if you will), but can anyone please help with the issues in my daughter’s house I descibe after that?

20 years ago when totally renovating my house, I had a proper electrician do the 1st fix (PME supply), but I plumbed and did the 2nd fix – incl. kitchen, utility, and bathrooms (2) – all copper pipework. Primary bonding was done from CU to water main to oil pipe (no gas supply). Then I was told to cross bond everything! For the kitchen and utility room it was the sink taps to the steel sinks themselves and the appliance taps. For the bathrooms it was the bath to the basin taps, the steel baths, the toilet feeds, the radiators (by drilling a hole through the radiator flange in a non critical place), the metal towel tail, and the earth on the shaver sockets.

Things change. Recently, I have built a new kitchen and utility room, this time using plastic pipe (with copper just for exposed central heating pipes). A big electric contractor did 1st and 2nd fix (2 experienced electricians, 1 lad, and firm’s contracted out Part P inspector to issue certificate) - but thankfully I managed to correct several mistakes in the lighting circuits before the ceilings were installed! Wiring to 16th edition (I have the OSG). But now there is no bonding at all in the kitchen or utility room. There is a new water main, all in plastic. Primary bonding does remain to the old copper main in the old kitchen (now converted to a study), but this is disconnected from the supply pipe and is dry.