Breeze Blocks and Fasteners

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I'm looking to affix shelves, cabinets, tool racks, lumber racks, etc in my shed but I'm not sure which plugs/screws to use. It's a single skin breeze block shed and I'd like to make sure everything is fixed solidly.

I'm probably overthinking this, but I am new to this kind of thing and I don't want to risk messing things up.

Any recommendations?

Thanks all.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
Look at fischers website for tech spec.
Briefly, for 8mm plug use a n.8 screw, 10mm plug n.10 screw, which must protrude 10mm or more from the end of the plug.
So if you attach a 15mm item and the plug is 40mm you will use a 65mm or longer screw.
Don't go crazy on length, as long as they stick out 10mm they're ok.
Drill the breeze block without hammer action and use a steady and confident action.
In other words, don't hung in there too long with the drill otherwise you'll end up with a volcano.

Look at fischers website for tech spec.
Briefly, for 8mm plug use a n.8 screw, 10mm plug n.10 screw, which must protrude 10mm or more from the end of the plug.
So if you attach a 15mm item and the plug is 40mm you will use a 65mm or longer screw.
Don't go crazy on length, as long as they stick out 10mm they're ok.
Drill the breeze block without hammer action and use a steady and confident action.
In other words, don't hung in there too long with the drill otherwise you'll end up with a volcano.
Thank you very much Johnny - much appreciated.

Done a bit of research and unless I'm mistaken, I can use ordinary wood screws when drilling with wall plugs into breeze block?

You could line the walls with ply , then fix to that.

Means you can make a tool board and any additions down the line are quick and easy

I wouldn't do that in a shed.
It would most likely rot the wall as there would be no breathing between wall and ply.