1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

British gas Worcester fires up too often

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by ant80, 31 Dec 2019.

  1. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys, I've just bought a house recently, I already have a British gas Worcester boiler already. As I'm doing it up myself I spent quite a bit of time in there. What I realized, that the boiler starts up for a minute in every approx twenty minutes for a minute. I don't have the 'keep the dhw hot function' on, as far as I'm concerned as the Eco light is always green. I have a wireless thermostat what I already moved into an other room but same stuff. It's a Drayton 3. My gas bill is going high and I don't know why. Any ideas please? Thanks, Tony
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,071
    Thanks Received:
    6,487
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you might be surprised to know that worcester rebadged many boilers for BG and drayton make many thermostats, post pics of what your set up is if you are not sure
     
  4. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I mentioned earlier British gas Worcester 532i , and Drayton digistat +3 rf wireless thermostat
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,071
    Thanks Received:
    6,487
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Er sorry no you didnt

     
  6. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, my bad..
     
  7. John D v2.0

    John D v2.0

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    6,315
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the thermostat calling for heat but all the trvs or other valves have closed?
     
  8. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Every trvs are open
     
  9. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The flame appears on the thermostat but shortly disappears. There is no temperature drop.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    3,678
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any dripping taps?
     
  12. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nothing drips, I redone the whole plumbing system, as I refurb the kitchen and the bathroom and that was the time for it. The magnaclean was dripping but I changed the seals, so all good now. I took a closer look today, and I've realized that the wireless thermostat sends signal. On that second the flame appears on the screen, a red flash on the receiver then green , boiler starts up for a while and stops. Meanwhile the temperature hasn't moved a bit. I guess the thermostat is messing around. What do you think?
     
  13. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    3,678
    Thanks Received:
    972
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like it could be, have you checked the batteries in it?
     
  14. John D v2.0

    John D v2.0

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    6,315
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another thing is to check the neighbours don't have the same thermostat on the same channel.
    Is the room temperature above or below the set point of the thermostat?
    Is the radiator too close to the thermostat?
     
  15. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No I haven't checked the batteries, my recent experience with wireless thermostat was, if the batteries running low it isn't switches the boiler on, or you have to move the thermostat closer to the boiler. But yes you are right, I should have to change them earlier.
    I have no clue about the neighbor's ch system, but I'll ask them.
    The thermostat was on the wall quite far from the radiator, but I've thought about that, I took it to the bedroom, it's on a table now, radiator works fine and no draft .So in an isolated room it does the same.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. ant80

    ant80

    Joined:
    19 Aug 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to update the status: I've called Drayton helpline, I've had to hold the line for a bit more than ten minutes. I explained the situation, I guess I wasn't the only one with it, the guy told me to press buttons on the thermostat it was like two minutes, and that's all. Hopefully it will work fine from now on.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page