BS7671 Help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

I am not an electrician by any means, but I am planning a project which needs some special wiring.

I contacted the IET, technical helpdesk, and I got this reply.....

"The information that you may find useful is covered in BS 7671:2008(2011), appendix 7, item 4 page 408."

My problem is that I don't have a copy of BS7671, and I can't afford £70 to go and buy it.

If anyone out there has a copy, could you please let me know what that section says, or scan it in and send it through?

Cheers
Gary

Sponsored Links
Basically it says if you use a harmonised 3 core cable for intermediate or two way switching where all conductors are line conductors, you should mark the black and grey cores either brown or "L" at their terminations.

But it's not "special wiring".

Sponsored Links
Does what the IET said to you make sense now? ;)

What the response confirms is that the IET haven't understood the question that I put to them!

In what way is it special?

The project isn't actually an installation one yet - it is the development of a new product. I wish I could give full details of it here on the forum, but at the moment I am not allowed to because of comapny confidentiality :mad:

Why do you think your electrician won't know what to do?
I asked the guy that I normally use, and he said that in principle the idea would work but that he wasn't sure where it sat from a regulations point of view becasue it was quite a novel idea.

That was why I got in touch with the IET Helpdesk.

My first email to them got a 'Computer says "No"' kind of response. They didn't say it doesn't meet regs, they said we can't help with your question and don't know who could, goodbye !

My second email got ignored.

My third email got the response I posted originally.

Sorry for having to be so shady about things, but like I say I am not allowed to divulge much more info.