Building a Shed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I have ordered a new Keter 8 X 11 plastic shed, and plan to keep one or two of my push bikes in it. I plan to secure them via a Gold Secure ground anchor. However the shed will need a base, I am considering making a concrete slab my self by ordering the cement and other bits and mixing it in a hired mixer. I have never done this before so not sure how easy it is.

An easier option would be to lay concrete paving slabs as the base. However, I think they would be even less secure for the ground anchor as could easily be broken with a hammer and chisel.

Any thoughts? ( I realise a plastic shed is not very secure in its self but I can't afford a metal Asgard shed the same size).

Sponsored Links
Don't know if it matters much either way, any thief coming tooled up will have a cordless angle grinder, there's not much that will stop that.

Any anchor point is only as strong as its weakest link, which may be a chain link, an insecure fixing or a lock hasp.
The idea of securing any property is to make it as difficult as possible for a thief to obtain it. This can take a number of forms such as a chain and padlock to a secure fixing, steel bars through points of the object or a good quality alarm system. These things may deter most attempts but a determined thief will always find a way if it is worth their trouble.

Sponsored Links
if you want a ground anchor, cast it into a block or slab of concrete, and recess it so you have to put your hand in the hollow to fasten the padlock. Make it awkward for anyone wanting to interfere with it.

A ground slab is very useful for a shed anyway, you can incorporate the anchor when you build it. It will save you having to drill and bolt it into place.

scaffolders screw eyes are very big and quite easy to find.

I use an angle grinder, and it is fairly noisy and slow cutting through steel bars.