Can anyone give me advice on a floor drain.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We have wet room at the practice for our dog swimming pool and water treadmill hydrotherapy facility (I'm a vet).

Before the concrete floor was laid, a 4" floor drain was placed and the floor was meant to drain towards it, of course, but doesn't. Unfortunately, the decorative acrylic chip floor was laid before it was realised the levels were a disaster.

In short, part of the floor fills an inch deep, from the splashing and the water would actually flow under a door to an adjacent room before it would flow to the drain. Not suprisingly using a floor squeegie to clear the floor, with each dog is a pain.

The lowest point is adjacent to another room which is still a shell with bare joists for a timber floor and I have a 50mm ABS pipe there which picks up the intermittently pumped waste water from the treadmill

My questions (at last!) are how feasible is it to retrofit some sort of shallow floor drain, like a shower trap sort of thing (serviced from the top) and connecting to this 50mm pipe under the partition wall and under the adjacent floor.

I have a selection of diamond cores that could drill neatly down through the decorative coating and into the concrete raft and in from the side from the outlet and the decorative floor contractor has already said he could make it good afterwards but the neater the hole the better.

Are there any brands or websites of products worth looking at?

Finally, would I need to install some sort of valve to prevent back flow from the treadmill pump and if so what is usually done?

Sponsored Links
I would be talking to the Wet Room manufacturers for advice on this one.

A video on installing a wet room is Here.

Might pay you to completely take up and redo the floor. :)