CAN I RUN A TELEVISION FROM A CEILING LIGHT ROSE

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HI THERE,

Can someone help, Can I run a television from a ceiling light rose. If so, what wiring do I ned to use?

Cheers in advance,

Sponsored Links
But that means wires showing all down the wall to the plug socket which is on the opposite wall. Very MESSY, dont you agree. I hate the thought of trunking all over the bedroom.

life is like that.

do it properly and live, bodge it and..............

Sponsored Links
But can it be done from the ceiling rose? I have been told to mount a 3 pin round plug socket on the wall so nobody goes plugging in power drills and stuff. Is this stupidity or is that true?

let me see, you are in the pub and this bloke says I am an electrician...

that asside, most ceiling lights are in the middle of the ceiling, so if it were true, you would have to have a socket and a plug and trunking, but wait a minute didn't you just say
swaring said:
I hate the thought of trunking all over the bedroom.

give up and plug it in

Shall I tell you exactly what he said. Basically you connect the wire from the ceiling rose up into the loft, drill a small hole back into the bedroom by the wall, mount a 3 pin socket at the top of the wall by the ceiling, so no wires can be seen, mount the tv and plug the 3 pin plug into the 3 pin socket. WALA. Have I answered all your questions, god I thought people were supposed to help you on here!!!!!

I am helping.

my first reply said
breezer said:
plug it in like everyone else does.

you obviously doubt this "electrican" in the pub since you are asking here.

in short, don't do it.

no one is going to say yes, which is what you seem to be looking for.

Well if the muppets on screwfix say it's ok it must be. :rolleyes:

Go for it. I don't know you, so I wont need a day off work for your funeral.

And yes, I am an electrician