Can someone please give me some advise

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there.. i just need some advise form someone who knows what they are on about. Im a general builder but mainly fit bathrooms for a living I get a few jobs where i have to do minor electrical changes eg fit low voltage light, extractor fans, change light switches and now to touch anything electrical i need to be Part P qualified? Iv been trying to go through train to gain to go through a course to get this qualification (but they are rubbish and have messed it all up). Iv been reading so many different thing on the internet that i would need to sit a 3 year C&G course to even qualify to sit the Part P and then on the NICEIC site they say you just need to have experience and no qualifications? iv been involved with electrics for 6 years now, i know i don’t know everything but I have hands on experience and have brought various NICEIC books and have been studying them aswell ? i don’t want to pay out loads of money for me to not pass this PART P course? For example I brought a guide off of ebay and it had an example test paper, reading through I had no idea what it was on about asking me, questions on different BS EN regs? Can someone help me how sat this course and the sort of criteria in the course

Sponsored Links
there's no such thing as a part P qualification

the "part P" pourses are either a Domestic installer course, which gives the basics that a plumber or kitchen fitter etc need to do basic electrics, or are an introduction to part P to familiarise people with the requirements of the new regulation...

you don't need qualifications at all to be part P registered, just to be able to prove that you are competent to do the work and test as aporopriate..

Because you do notifiable works in wet areas, kitchens, you do need to keep to the rules.

There's a number of things you can do:-