advice please - Domestic Installer training

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone
I have been looking at the niceic website and I am thinking of doing the domestic installer qualification has anyone done this course and can tell me exactly what it involves what do they want on the assessment day?
I have had many years of experience but have no formal qualifications mostly working alongside my father (sparks all his life) but my experience in testing is limited it looks like you need to have a c&g qualification to do the course on testing so that’s a no go.
The niceic website also says to get on there competent persons scheme and self certify your work you need to have been working for at least 12 months in this area, as I am returning to this work after a break what would be the best and quickest way to do this
Any advice please

Sponsored Links
Hi J
It seems that these courses vary quite a lot. I did the Rotherham scheme and was pleased, but many posters seem very dis-satisfied with the teaching and content. Certainly some of the questions asked on this forum by some who state that they had obtained a DIQ, do make one realise that there must be a big difference between courses. Could others with a DIQ put in a reply giving their views of their course and where it was to help you (and others) choose the best?
HTH
V

did mine last week and it was very good,however i did spend 2 months with my head in the on-site guide and others that didnt struggled!

however not enough time was spent on testing.

it was to pricey,should be about 6-7 hundrend

But overall you gota do to get into NIC. I have my pre-assessment today.

2391 would be better for you i think but its not enough to get in NIC.

Cheers

Thanks for your reply’s
I have had a look at the niceic website the 2391 course says