Ceiling rose/lamp.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I need some advice, I am new to all this, I think my problem applies to this but not sure: //www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:lighting:rose

Ok, so I took of the ceiling rose form a light and it had three cables coming down from the ceiling, each with a black, red and green/yellow cable.
All three reds were together as were the green/yellows (earths, where as 2 of the black together were together and one wasn’t. So the new light has a choc block (I think it’s called) with a L, N and E. so am I right in thinking that all the reds cables go to the L, all the earth go to the E, and then this is where I get confused, do I put the lone black cable in the n or the 2 black cables? And either way what do I do with the other cables, just cover it in tape and leave it up there?
Or is the lonely black cable the L and should have a red sleeve?????
Hope this makes sense; let me know if you need more info.

Thank you in advance,
TJ

Sponsored Links
I'd imagine the black on it's own is the switch live and should have a red sleeve. This connects to the L terminal.
The two other blacks to the N terminal
All 3 earths to the earth terminal.
All 3 reds in an extra piece of terminal block together and to nothing else.

you put the two blacks that are together, which are neutrals in the N terminal
and the single black should be sleeved with red cable sleeving to indicate it is the switch live and be connected in to the L terminal.
The earths stay together in the E terminal and all the reds (this a loop connection) stay together in a seperate connector strip, you may need to buy one of these;
http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/TLCON5.html
They can be cut to suit.

Sponsored Links
Cool thank you very much!lets hope it work the missus really want her lights back :)

so am I right in thinking that all the reds cables go to the L, all the earth go to the E, and then this is where I get confused...
No - you got confused before then.