Changing a single light switch to a twin switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Horatio, 6 Sep 2006.

  1. Horatio

    Horatio

    Joined:
    1 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I need to put an additional light on an outbuilding, the building already has a switchable internal light but I want to add a permanently on (dusk til dawn sensor) light to the exterior. I thought to use the same supply as the interior light but just add a twin switch so that the interior can be turned off but the supply to the exterior remains intact. The single switch is simple connections for load and supply designated with L,N and earth. However the twin switch I bought has the two switches designated each with Common and L1,L2. How do I connect this with the supply and the feed to the two light units?

    Thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure there is L&N in the switch? If so you can joint the neutrals together in a piece of chock block, red supply to C on one switch with a loop of wire connecting across to C on the other switch. Supply to the internal lamp from L1 on one switch and supply to outside light from L1 on the other switch. Join all the earths together in a chock block and loop out to the back box and switch if required. (What I am trying to say is don't rely on a crappy back box terminal for your earths).
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is just an ordinary switch is it, not a switched fused connection unit?

    And are there two twin & earth cables going to it, or one?
     
  5. Steve

    Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,497
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ban, it could be a 20A switch.
     
  6. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,782
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed it could.

    But as this is an outbuilding, it could be a switched FCU from the circuit supplying sockets in it. In which case replacing it with a 2G light switch might not be the cleverest of moves...
     
  7. Spark123

    Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,841
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well spotted ban!! I must admit I was thinking 20A DP too.
     
  8. Steve

    Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,497
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :oops: must admit, i didnt read all of the post that mentioned where this switch was or what it was feeding! :rolleyes:
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page